Andante Religioso for Cello Quartet (Op. 28) – Bloch


Andante Religioso (Op. 28) by József Bloch, arranged for cello quartet.

SKU: Bloch-Andante Category:
Bloch Andante Religioso (Op. 28), arranged for cello quartet by Samuel Sykes. Full score and four parts included.
  • Pages — 7 total
  • Duration — 3 min
  • Files — Score and 4 parts
  • Instrumentation — Cello Quartet
  • Info — (Bloch Andante Religioso)
  • Level — Intermediate

Audio Sample:


József Bloch was a violin virtuoso and composer, born in Budapest in 1862 (he is not to be confused with Ernest Bloch – the famous American composer by the same last name). There is very little documented about him, but his compositions include short pieces for violin, technique exercises for the violin, and two suites for orchestra. At just sixteen years of age, Bloch was appointed as an assistant teacher at the National Conservatory before moving to the Paris Conservatory. He returned to his home of Budapest later in life and became the second violinist of the Budapest Quartet (also known as the Hubay-Popper String Quartet). Legendary cellist David Popper was a founding member of this chamber group. The Bloch Andante Religioso is a beautiful but simple piece that works very well for a cello quartet ensemble. Click here to watch a recording of the piece by a larger ensemble of twelve cellos.


Please Note — After purchasing, you will be sent a download link that will expire after three days – be sure to download and store the PDF right away. There is a maximum of three re-downloads per product. We ask that you please refrain from digitally distributing or printing more copies than purchased for use (such as printing or digitally distributing the PDF to friends or students) as many hours of work are put into writing and publishing the arrangements! This work is published through ASCAP. If you would like to perform this arrangement publicly, be sure to include proper credit to the arranger (view our FAQs for more info on public performances). If you enjoy your purchase, feel free to leave a review on the product or shop for other arrangements for cello ensembles by clicking here!


Shopping Cart