Les chemins de l’amour for Cello Quintet (FP 106) – Poulenc


Les chemins de l’amour (FP 106-la) by Francis Poulenc arranged for five cellos.

SKU: Poulenc-Les-Chemins Category:
Poulenc Les chemins de l’amour (FP 106-la), arranged for cello quintet by Samuel Sykes. Full score and five parts included.
  • Pages — 10 total
  • Duration — 3:50
  • Files — Score and 5 parts
  • Instrumentation — Cello Quintet
  • Info — (Poulenc Les chemins de l’amour)
  • Level — Intermediate/Advanced

Audio Sample:


Poulenc Les chemins de l’amour was written in 1940 to lyrics from Jean Anouilh’s operetta by the name of Léocadia. The title of the piece is often translated as ” the pathways of love” and tells the tale of a price that fell in love with a Romanian opera singer, only to be shaken by her death after just three days of knowing her (read more about the full plot here). It has been widely noted that Poulenc composed and dedicated the piece for the lead actress and soprano Yvonne Printemps (click here to listen to her famous performance of the piece). This arrangement features the soprano line in the first cello part and breaks the accompaniment into four separate cello parts.


“Paths of my love, I still seek you, lost paths, you are no more and your echos are hollow. Paths of despair, paths of memory, paths of the first day, divine paths of love.”

Jean Anouilh (lyrics from Les chemins de l’amour)


Please Note — After purchasing, you will be sent a download link that will expire after three days – be sure to download and store the PDF right away. There is a maximum of three re-downloads per product. We ask that you please refrain from digitally distributing or printing more copies than purchased for use (such as printing or digitally distributing the PDF to friends or students) as many hours of work are put into writing and publishing the arrangements! This work is published through ASCAP. If you would like to perform this arrangement publicly, be sure to include proper credit to the arranger (view our FAQs for more info on public performances). If you enjoy your purchase, feel free to leave a review on the product or shop for other arrangements for cello ensembles by clicking here!


Shopping Cart